h1

Mini rant on public transportation

April 9, 2008

So I’m stuck taking public transportation at the moment and am getting more and more frustrated by the day. The ferry isn’t too bad (however, now that they have cut down on routes and times I’m not so sure it’s as good as it used to be.)  But, the bus schedule is ridiculous.  God forbid one should want to go out to dinner with friends in the evening or do anything after 5:30pm for that matter!  I got stuck waiting an hour for bus at 8pm at night?!!  I guess I should count myself lucky I mean if I lived on routes 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, or 9 (Note: this totals 7 out of our 11 routes) I wouldn’t have been able to get home at all since all those routes stop by about 6:30pm.  Out of the routes that run past 6:30pm, the 7 and the 10 stop at around 9:15pm and the 8 and 11 go on until 11:45pm.  Forget being able to get home from a night on the town on a Saturday night too! Making public transportation free is not going to make it viable option for the public either.  People aren’t going to take if they can’t get service to their areas period! And we wonder why our roads are so congested with traffic and we have so many drunk drivers?! 

